Pakistan in the Wake of Nightmare


As I started walking towards my house, it was nearing dawn. The stars were busy in their usual dance and not a cloud wavered in the skies, but in the sudden of few minutes the breath-taking scene turned into the worst nightmare. The crackling of thunder sent a numbing sensation through my body. The lightning, blinding my eyes tilted all perceptions into an odd axis. An instinct of urgency spurred me to walk faster. In a space of a few minutes, the drizzle turned into a storm. Every drop felt like a tsunami in form and feel.

 I had never seen such a horrible storm in my whole life. A golden dawn was covered by black clouds showering rain worse than acid. After a struggle ensued in the ruthless storm I caught a glimpse of my home.  As I got closer, I realized the storm was only around my home. By the time I stood at the entrance, the storm had reached an incomparable ferocity.

As I entered home, I couldn’t believe it was my abode. There were a lot of people in there, millions of them, different in color, different in races, different in languages. Before I could recover this shock, a beast jumped in. It was enormous, a beast probably bigger than empire state building. I witnessed a sea of faces going pale in a matter of seconds. Fear was in the air and everyone was breathing it. Adding to that the howl of beast played the whistle of death for everyone.

People started to die, one after another; I could see the bodies falling. House that was not home anymore, bodies that were not alive anymore, hell must be a better place than this, a sudden thought that hit my mind. I was witnessing something worse than hell. Before the beast started to make the bodies his food, I saw my home collapsing, walls going down one by one, I ran towards the exit gate. Before the last wall of my home fell down, I realized it’s not my home, it is Pakistan.

As I woke up, a transition from darkness to brightness started, splashes of white light ascended on the dark curtain. A cool breeze welcomed me into a different world. The sweat dripping down my brow felt as if it had just rained. It was another storm but this time it was in my head, the storm of thoughts that was hitting my already occupied mind.

Soon the blurred dream cleared, the questions answered themselves. I realized, the beast lives somewhere in our twisty heads. It is feeble and small, but it grows when we silence our voices against the corruption. It develops when we close our eyes to injustice. It laughs when we support nepotism, it dances when tyranny prevails. We ignore it everyday every-time and this ignorance is making it stronger.

Let us face the stark truth, the truth that is unpleasant and bitter. We are hoping that such nightmares would not come true but in some far off corner in our mind, we know that it eventually would if we keep ignoring the wrong. We are developing the beast into a barbarian monster. If we keep ignoring it like this, I am afraid; someday the beast might become real and destroy us. Jump of a Desi grey cat from the ledge brought a stop to ocean of thoughts in my head, I look out it’s a bright sunny day.

One thought on “Pakistan in the Wake of Nightmare

Leave a Reply

